Government in Canada

Canada is a constitutional monarchy, and a federation of ten provinces and three territories. The administration is generally divided between three levels of government: federal, provincial, and municipal, each with specific authority. A parliamentary democracy that derives many traditions from Britain, Canada still retains the British monarch as head of state. Royal powers have been […]

Government in Canada Read More »

Canadian System of Government

Canada has a federal system of government. Areas of lawmaking are divided between the national government and the provinces. Federal Government Canada’s system of government is based on the British parliamentary model. Canada is considered a constitutional monarchy. Monarchy The British monarch, currently Queen Elisabeth II, is in theory the head of the country. In

Canadian System of Government Read More »